

PERSONAL DOCUMENTS CHECKLIST – AGE 18

Purpose: The primary caseworker, supervisor, courtesy worker, or local permanency specialist use this form to document when a youth receives photocopies and certified copies (or originals) of the youth's personal documents. The youth is required to have these documents by policy and law (TFC §264.121).

Directions: To complete this form, the primary caseworker and youth (or caregiver when appropriate) must sign that the youth (or caregiver) received the required documents. The caregiver may keep and store the documents for the youth. DFPS staff must begin gathering the personal documents no later than when the youth is age 17 ½. Personal documents must be given to the youth at least 30 days **before** the youth is age 18. Except for the medical power of attorney forms (see below), this means it is acceptable to give youth their personal documents prior to age 17 ½.

Note: If the youth was previously given certified copies or originals of the youth's birth certificate, Social Security card, or personal ID, DFPS staff must verify that the youth still has them.

Documentation: DFPS staff places copies of all personal documents and the signed Form 2528 in the youth's external case file, and provides a copy of Form 2528 to the youth. If personal documents are provided at different times, DFPS staff completes another Form 2528. DFPS staff must complete an IMPACT *Contact Narrative* stating:

- The youth (or caregiver) received the documents.
- Which documents were provided.
- Whether the youth was previously given any documents and whether they still have them.
- Any efforts to obtain documents if they were not provided.
- Plans to keep documents in a safe place.

YOUTH'S INFORMATION			
Full Name:	Date of Birth:	DFPS PID Number:	

REQUIRED DOCUMENTS

Check the appropriate boxes. Youth (or caregiver) **must initial** that *both* a photocopy and certified copy were received for the Birth Certificate, Social Security Card, and Personal identification card as required by law. If the youth is given their Medicaid card it must be the original.

Birth Certificate copy certified (or original)
Social Security Card or replacement card copy original
Personal identification card issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) copy original
Information in the youth's Health Passport copy
Immunization Records (may be in Health Passport) copy
Medicaid card or other proof of enrollment in Medicaid or an insurance card from a health plan that provides
health coverage to youth in foster care. original

If available:

Passport

Citizenship records



PERSONAL DOCUMENTS STORAGE

Describe the youth's plans to keep documents in a safe place:

MEDICAL POWER OF ATTORNEY

During the youth's last 90 days in care (the three months prior to the youth turning 18), the caseworker must provide Forms <u>2559A</u> and <u>2559B</u>, relating to medical power of attorney, to the youth.

2559A Information Concerning the Medical Power of Attorney

2559B Medical Power of Attorney, Designation of Health Care Agent

CREDIT REPORTS

The youth was informed that a credit report was run. Yes No Date credit report run:

SIGNATURES		
Youth:	Date Signed:	
Х		
Youth's Caregiver:	Date Signed:	
Х		
DFPS Caseworker:	Date Signed:	
X		



COMMENTS

Note attempts to secure documents as appropriate.



Texas Department of **Family and Protective Services**

Additional information and guidance on where to obtain documents:

Birth Certificate

The CPS foster care eligibility specialists must access the Department of State Health State Service's (DSHS) BVS system, which allows the specialist to verify birth information and order certified birth certificates for children in DFPS conservatorship who were born in Texas. See <u>1521</u> Requesting Certified Birth Certificates for forms and protocols.

Note: A BVS screen print is not sufficient for purposes of complying with policy <u>6452</u> Personal Documents Provided to Youth and law (Texas Family Code §<u>264.121</u>). The youth must receive, at least 30 days before turning 18 years of age or being emancipated, a physical certified copy or original of the youth's birth certificate. This may be either the "long" or "short" form birth certificate.

Social Security Card or a replacement card

DFPS staff contacts the regional SSI coordinator or other regional staff to process the request. A listing of regional SSI coordinators can be found on the DFPS Safety Net at <u>http://intranet/CPS/Regional/SSI.asp</u>.

State Identification Card

The Texas Department of Public Safety requires that a certified birth certificate and other additional records or supporting documentation be submitted with a DPS application to obtain either a Texas driver's license or personal identification card. A list of required documentation, records, costs associated with purchasing these documents, and the DPS application are available at the <u>Texas Department of Public Safety</u> website.

Health Passports (STAR Health), Proof of Medicaid Enrollment, and Immunization Records

The STAR Health program provides and coordinates health care services for current and former foster youth and tracks each youth's health care services and records. In addition, the web-based Health Passport tracks the youth's Medicaid enrollment and other medical services provided. At a minimum, the Health Passport contains:

- The youth's name, birth date, address on record, and Medicaid ID number.
- The names and addresses of all of the youth's physicians and health care providers.
- A record based on Medicaid claims of each visit to a physician or other health care provider, including routine checkups.
- A record of immunizations.
- An identification of the youth's known health problems.
- The youth's prescription information.

Credit Reports

Every fiscal year an annual batch report is run with the three credit reporting agencies for youth in DFPS conservatorship ages 14 through age 17. Individual requests may be made to state office if the youth meets criteria per policy <u>6453</u> Consumer Credit Reports. When a credit report is run, the caseworker is required to inform the youth that this occurred.

DFPS staff can access more information and guidance on the <u>Credit Reports for Youth</u> page of the DFPS Safety Net. For specific protocols and an FAQ, read the Credit Report Directions document found under *Resources* on the right-hand side of the page.

Medical Power of Attorney (MPOA)

To comply with the MPOA option, the youth must be provided with the Information Concerning the Medical Power of Attorney (Form 2559A) and Medical Power of Attorney Designation of Health Care Agent (Form 2559B). The caseworker must review this information with the youth or the youth's caretaker within the 90 days before a youth turns age 18 or is leaving care.

Note: If the youth chooses to complete and sign an MPOA, this must occur **after** the youth turns age 18.