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Criminal Background
Checks/Listed Family Homes

The agency in 1998 implemented a new
law requiring criminal backgro u n d
checks of family home providers who

c a re for three or fewer children. Pre v i o u s l y,
only family home providers who cared for four
or more children in addition to their own were
re g i s t e red by the state.

The new law, which went into effect in
J a n u a ry 1998, created the “listed” family home,
a new category of child care. Anyone who is
paid to provide regular child care in their own
homes for one to three children not related to
them must now list with the agency. Listing
with the agency re q u i res a background check for
criminal history and child abuse and neglect.

Neither PRS nor any other entity had a
means to determine how many of the state’s
u n regulated family home providers would be
c o v e red by this new law. The agency mounted
a public awareness and outreach eff o rt to
i n f o rm parents and providers about the new
l a w. During Fiscal Year 1998, 1,163 family
homes in this category were approved to list

with PRS.
In the past, the agency has conducted

criminal history checks of dire c t o r s ,
owners and staff of licensed child-care
facilities and re g i s t e red family home
p roviders. The agency has also checked
d i rectors and owners against its central
database of people who have abused or
neglected children. All backgro u n d

checks were conducted only upon initial
a p p l i c a t i o n .

In Fiscal Year 1998, the agency began
checking all child-care employees
against its child abuse and neglect data-
base with plans for rechecking every 24

Child Care
L ic e n s i ng

T he agency’s Child Care
Licensing Division (CCL)
is responsible for pro t e c t-
ing the health, safety, and

well-being of Texas children who
attend or reside in regulated child-
c a re facilities. Roughly 18.1 perc e n t
of Texas’ more than 4.3 million chil-
d ren age birth to 13 years old are in
some kind of out-of-home care pro-
vided by day-care centers, kinder-
g a rtens and nursery schools, dro p - i n
c a re centers, listed or re g i s t e red fami-
ly homes, and group day-care homes. 

CCL also regulates child-
c a re administrators, foster
homes, child-care insti-
tutions, child-placing
agencies and matern i t y
homes. In addition,
24-hour re s i d e n t i a l
c a re facilities are
licensed to care
for 22,101
c h i l d re n .
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months. The agency also began checking the
criminal history of current directors, owners
and staff every 24 months. In the case of re g i s-
t e red or listed family homes and residential (24-
hour) facilities, this will include family mem-
bers and people who live in the home or are
f requently at the home while the children are
in care. The agency may now deny a license,
registration or listing based on the findings of
these background checks.

Alternative Accreditation

I n 1997, the Govern o r’s Faith-based Ta s k
F o rce recommended that an alternative to

licensing be created. As a result, the Legislature
c reated the Alternative Accreditation Pro g r a m ,
which allows child-care facilities and child-
placing agencies to operate without a license if

they are accredited by an organization. The
a c c reditation organization must re q u i re compli-
ance with standards that meet or exceed state
s t a n d a rds. PRS approves these accre d i t a t i o n
o rganizations. Once a facility or agency has
been “accredited,” it will be monitored by the
a c c reditation organization. At the end of Fiscal
Year 1998, the agency had received its first

application by an organization wishing to be
a c c redited. As of the publication of this re p o rt ,
the application was appro v e d .

Inspections

I n Fiscal Year 1998, Licensing staff conduct-
ed 39,535 inspections to determine if facili-

ties met minimum standards. Those failing to

Inspections of 
Child Care Facilities
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meet standards may be placed on evaluation or
p robation status, which increases the number
of inspections and level of assistance they
receive. If the risk to children is substantial,
the license or registration may be suspended for
a period or it may be revoked. Once re v o k e d ,
operators may not reapply for two years. The
agency also investigates complaints and serious
o c c u rrences involving child care. There were
1,183 investigations of abuse or neglect and
11,534 investigations of alleged standards vio-
lations in Fiscal Year 1998. 

Child Care Information

P a rents can receive information about child
c a re, and new providers can learn about

the licensing process, by calling their local PRS
o ffice. The agency also offers a toll-free child
c a re information hotline (1-800-862-5252) to
answer questions. In Fiscal Year 1998, the hot-
line responded to 8,719 calls from the public.

During 1998, staff revised and distributed
public outreach bro c h u res about child-care
options, which reflected changes such as listed
family homes. The agency posted updated mini-
mum standards and guidelines for day-care cen-
ters and re g i s t e red family homes, listings of self-
i n s t ructional programs, and other inform a t i o n
on its web site at http://www. t d p r s . s t a t e . t x . u s
under “Child Care . ”

Training

L icensing staff provided 850 training and
p rofessional development sessions for staff

of licensed and re g i s t e red facilities in 1998.
Examples of topics that were off e red are child-
c a re minimum standards, re c o rdkeeping, child
health and safety, nutrition, age-appro p r i a t e
activities, child guidance, and discipline. 
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Child Care Licensing staff are charged with enforcing the
s t a t e ’s minimum standards for the health, safety, and well-
being of children who are in out-of-home care. When a cen-
ter fails to meet minimum standards, Licensing staff inform

the center’s director in writing; the director is responsible for bringing
the center into compliance. After repeated standards violations or a
single serious incident, a facility’s license may be revoked or it may be
placed on probation for up to one year. A day care center (above) in
south El Paso was placed on six months probation. Through the eff o rt
of the facility’s owner and staff, noncompliance with standards were
c o rrected and the probation was lifted after only three months. 



C h i l d - c a re licensing re p resentatives, inves-
tigators, and their supervisors received more
than 9,800 hours of training in such areas as
i n t e rviewing child victims of abuse/neglect, cul-
tural diversity, facility minimum standards, and
p rogram policy and pro c e d u re. The clerical and
s u p p o rt staff participated in 746 hours of train-
ing that included customer service and the use
of automated systems.

Day care
◆ D a y - c a re centers provide care for more than
12 children under age 14 for less than 24 hours.

◆ R e g i s t e red family homes provide care in
the care g i v e r’s home for up to six childre n
under age 14, in addition to the care g i v e r’s
own children. They may also take in up to six
m o re school-age children after school. 

◆ Listed family homes—a new category of
regulated child care effective Sept. 1, 1997
— p rovide regular care in a care g i v e r’s home for
one to three children who are not related to
them. Unlike other facilities, listed family
homes do not have minimum standards and
a re not inspected.

◆ G roup day-care homes provide care for 7-
12 children under age 14 for less than 24 hours
a day.

◆ K i n d e rg a rtens and nursery schools pro v i d e
c a re to children ages 2-7 for four hours a day or
l e s s .

◆ D rop-in care centers provide occasional
c a re for short time period s .

◆ Schools, grades kinderg a rten and above,
p rovide educational programs for children ages
5-13 during the same hours as public schools.

Student council members from Sam Houston High School
in Arlington share their time with children at Alpha
C h i l d c a re, a crisis child-care facility sponsored by Mission
Arlington. Each child is adopted by students who bring

them gifts on birthdays and holidays. “It’s important for us to give
back to the community,” said one student.
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Residential 
(licensed 24-hour care )

◆ Foster family homes provide care for up to
six childre n .

◆ Foster group homes provide care for 7-12
c h i l d re n .

◆ E m e rgency shelters provide short - t e rm re s i-
dential care for children and food, clothing,
s h e l t e r, and medical services as needed.

◆ Child-placing agencies arrange for place-
ment of children in adoption or foster care .
Agencies are responsible for assuring that their
foster homes meet standard s .

◆ Institutions providing basic child care pro-
vide 24-hour care but do not offer specialized
p rograms such as those at emergency shelters
and residential treatment centers.

◆ Institutions serving mentally re t a rded chil-
d ren serve children or adolescents with deficits
in intellectual function or adaptive behavior.

◆ Residential treatment centers provide care
and treatment for emotionally disturbed chil-
d ren and adolescents in an institutional setting.

◆ Halfway houses serve as transitional living
facilities for no more than 24 children 15 years
or older. They provide therapeutic group living
to help children make the transition to living
in the community.

◆ Therapeutic camps provide special outdoor
experience programs for children over age 6
with behavioral pro b l e m s .

◆ M a t e rnity homes provide residential care
for four or more pregnant women or women
who have given birth within two weeks prior to
the date of admission.

Child Care Facilities in Texas End of FY 1998

F a c i l i t i e s C a p a c i t y

Day Care Licensing
Day Care Centers 7 , 7 1 5 6 6 7 , 6 6 0
D rop-in Centers 1 8 7 7 1
K i n d e rg a rt e n s / N u r s e ry Schools 2 7 6 1 7 , 6 4 1
S c h o o l s 7 2 6 , 9 6 3
G roup Day Care Homes 1 , 8 7 7 2 2 , 8 0 7
Total Licensed/Certified Facilities 9 , 9 5 8 7 1 5 , 8 4 2
R e g i s t e red Family Homes 1 0 , 5 4 3 6 3 , 2 5 8
Listed Homes 1 , 1 6 3 3 , 4 8 9
Total Day Care Facilities 2 1 , 6 6 4 7 8 2 , 5 8 9

Residential Licensing
Residential Child Care Facilities:
Independent Foster Family Homes 6 5 2 1 6
Independent Foster Group Homes 3 8 4 4 6
E m e rgency Shelters 7 0 1 , 6 2 3
Institutions Providing Basic Care 7 9 4 , 8 7 4
Institutions Serving Mentally Retarded Childre n 8 2 4 9
Residential Treatment Centers 9 2 4 , 0 5 4
Halfway Houses 4 1 0 2
Therapeutic Camps 9 4 6 9
Total Residential Child Care Facilities 3 6 5 1 2 , 0 3 3

Child Placing Agencies (Total 191)
Agency Foster Homes 2 , 4 8 9 7 , 8 8 3
Agency Foster Group Homes 2 3 5 2 , 1 8 5

Total Agency Homes 2 , 7 2 4 1 0 , 0 6 8

Total Residential Facilities and Agency Homes 3 , 0 8 9 2 2 , 1 0 1

CPS Approved Foster Homes* 3 , 3 4 8 1 0 , 4 4 9
CPS Approved Adoptive Homes* 2 , 2 3 2 1 , 9 6 8
M a t e rnity Homes 1 4 N / A
Child Care Administrators Licensed 1 , 0 7 9 N / A

*CPS staff verify and assure that these homes meet standard s .


