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C h i l d
C a re
L i c e n s i n g

T
he agency’s Child Care

Licensing Division (CCL) is

responsible for pro t e c t i n g

the health, safety and we l l -

being of Texas children who attend or

reside in regulated child-care facilities.

CCL regulates 22,639 child care centers

and family home day cares, which

together have the capacity to care for

809,968 children.  CCL also re g u l a t e s

24-hour residential child care, such as

residential treatment centers, emergency

shelters, child placing agencies and

foster homes, and their child care

administrators.  An estimated 23,458

c h i l d ren reside in these settings.  

CCL Automation Sy s t e m
The 76th Texas Legislature provided $8.4 million

dollars in funding to help support services to

vulnerable children through the development of a new

automation system for CCL.  The system was

recommended by the State Au d i t o r’s Office and will

p rovide accessible, user friendly information for pare n t s

and providers of child care.  The system will also help

CCL improve safety of children in these facilities in

many ways, including providing a faster turnaround on

b a c k g round checks of child-care workers, encouraging

quicker and more thorough monitoring of compliance

with regulations and improving the data share d

b e t ween CCL and Child Pro t e c t i ve Se rvices.  CCL

expects to begin implementation of the new system by

late fall of 2001.  

Ba c k g round checks
One way CCL works to ensure the safety of Te x a s

c h i l d ren in out-of-home care is by conducting criminal

b a c k g round checks of directors, owners, staff, and

a n yone who is regularly or frequently present in a

child- care facility or family home while children are in

c a re.  CCL also checks these individuals against its

central re g i s t ry database of people who have abused or

neglected children.  Ba c k g round checks are conducted

upon an individual’s initial application for employ m e n t

at a facility or upon a facility’s application for license

t h rough the state.  CCL repeats the background checks

on these individuals eve ry 24 months.  CCL also

conducts criminal background checks on potential

foster and adoptive parents.  In 1999, CCL conducted

233,749 background checks in Te x a s .

A l t e r n a t i ve Ac c re d i t a t i o n
As a result of an initiative in the 1997 Legislative

Session, Texas created the Alternative Accreditation

Program, which allows child-care facilities and child-
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placing agencies to operate without a license if they

are accredited by an approved organization.  The

accreditation organization must require compliance

with standards that meet or exceed state minimum

standards.  PRS approves these accreditation

organizations, which in turn, accredit and monitor

child-care facilities.  PRS approved the first

accreditation organization in March 1999.  That

organization accredited one facility during 1999. 

In s p e c t i o n s
In 1999, licensing staff conducted inspections to

determine if facilities met minimum standard s .

Those failing to meet standards may be placed on

e valuation or probation status, which increases the

number of inspections and level of assistance they

re c e i ve. If the risk to children is substantial, the

license or registration may be suspended for a

period, or it may be re voked. Once a license is

re voked, operators may not reapply for two years. In

addition to routine inspections, the agency also

i n vestigates complaints and serious incidents

i n volving child care. Of the 40,872 inspections,

t h e re we re 1,588 investigations of alleged abuse or

neglect and 12,547 investigations of alleged

s t a n d a rds violations in 1999.

Child Care In f o r m a t i o n
Parents can receive information about child care, and

new providers can learn about the licensing process

by calling their local PRS office. The agency also

offers a toll-free child care information hotline at

1-800-862-5252 to answer questions. In 1999, the

hotline responded to 8,767 calls from the public.

The public can also find information about

minimum standards and guidelines for day-care

centers, registered family homes and listed family

homes on the PRS website at www.tdprs.state.tx.us

under “Child Care.”

Tr a i n i n g
Licensing staff provided 701 training and

p rofessional development sessions for staff of licensed

and re g i s t e red facilities in 1999. Examples of topics

that we re offered are child-care minimum standard s ,

re c o rd keeping, child health and safety, nutrition,

a g e - a p p ropriate activities, child guidance, and

discipline.  Licensing staff also began training

p roviders who care for infants about Sudden In f a n t

Death Sy n d rome and Shaken Ba by Sy n d rome in

response to legislation passed by Texas lawmakers in

the 76th Legislative Session. 

Child Care Licensing re p re s e n t a t i ves, inve s t i g a t o r s ,

and their supervisors re c e i ved more than 17,261 hours

of training in such areas as interv i ewing child victims

of abuse/neglect, cultural dive r s i t y, facility minimum

s t a n d a rds, and program policy and pro c e d u re. T h e
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clerical and support staff participated in 987 hours of

training that included customer service and the use of

automated systems.  

Da y - C a re Licensing
All day-care providers care for children less than 24

hours a day.

• Da y - c a re cen t e r s p rovide care for seven to 12 childre n
who are younger than age 14.

• Group day-care homes provide care in the care g i ve r’s

home for up to six children who are younger than age
14, in addition to the care g i ve r’s own children. T h e y

may also care for up to six more school-age childre n
after school.

• Listed family homes p rovide regular care in a care g i ve r’s

home for one to three children who are not related to
them. Unlike other facilities, listed family homes do not
h a ve minimum standards and are not inspected.

• K i n d e r g a rtens and nursery schools p rovide care to
c h i l d ren age 2 to 6 for up to four hours a day.

• D rop-in care centers p rovide occasional care for short
time periods.

• Schools—grades kindergarten and above—p rov i d e

educational programs for children ages 5 to 13 during
the same hours as public schools. Only schools meeting
c e rtain criteria are regulated by CC L .

Residential Licensing
Residential child care facilities care for children 24

hours a day.

• Foster family homes p rovide care for up to six childre n

• Foster group homes p rovide care for seven to 12
c h i l d re n .

• Emergency shelters p rovide short-term residential care ,
including any necessary medical care, for childre n .

• Residential treatment centers p rovide care and

t reatment for emotionally disturbed children and
adolescents in an institutional setting.

• Basic child care institutions p rovide 24-hour care but

— Printed with permission.

Courtersy of Tyler Morning Telegraph.

Generations To g e t h e r :

Our Saviour’s Lutheran Church is

taking a unique approach to

daycare with Generations

Together. Above, “Miss Ruby”

and Stephanie look at pictures

together. The intergenerational

day care allows educational

opportunities for children and

responsibility for seniors. On this

day, Stephanie said, “I feel

cranky.” Together, Stephanie

and Miss Ruby relax and

continue to learn. “She said she

was cranky,” Miss Ruby said.

“That was the cutest thing I’d

ever heard.” 
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Child Care Facilities in Texas 
End of FY 1999

FA C I L I T I E S C A PA C I T Y

Day Ca re Licensing
L i c e n s ed /C e rtified Fa c i l i t i e s :
Drop in Centers 19 763 
Day Care Centers 7,947 695,485 
K i n d e r g a rt e n s / Nu r s e ry Schools 253 15,926 
S c h o o l s / K i n d e r g a rtens and Ab ove 64 6,111 
Group Day Care Homes 1,926 23,337 
Subtotal Licensed/Certified Facilities 10,209 741,622 

Re g i s t e red Family Ho m e s 10,352 62,112 
Listed Ho m e s 2,078 6,234 
Total Day Care Facilities and Homes 22,639 809,968 

Residential Licensing 
Residential Child Ca re Fa c i l i t i e s :
Independent Foster Group Ho m e s 33 456 
Independent Foster Family Ho m e s 67 213 
Institutions Providing Basic Care 76 4,737 
Institutions Se rving Mentally Re t a rded Childre n 7 263 
Emergency Sh e l t e r s 66 1,611 
Halfway Ho u s e s 2 42 
Residential Treatment Centers 85 3,769 
Therapeutic Camps 10 510 
Subtotal Residential Child Ca re Fa c i l i t i e s 346 11,601 

Child Placing Agencies * 205 N / A
Agency Foster Ho m e s 2,710 9,030 
Agency Foster Group Ho m e s 306 2,827 
CPS Ap p roved Foster Ho m e s * * 3,551 1 0 , 4 6 1
CPS Foster Group Ho m e s * * 85 5 4 9
CPS Ap p roved Ad o p t i ve Ho m e s * * 2,717 N/A 
Subtotal Agency Foster and Ad o p t i ve Homes 9,369 22,867 

Maternity Homes 14 N/A 

Total Residential Facilities and 9 , 9 3 4 3 4 , 4 6 8
Child Placing Agencies

Child Ca re Administrators Licensed 1,093 N/A 

* Child placing agencies validate and assure that agency homes meet standard s .
* * CPS is a licensed child placing agency.



do not offer specialized programs such as
those at emergency shelters and re s i d e n t i a l
t reatment centers.

• Institutions serving mentally re t a rd e d
c h i l d ren c a re for children or adolescents
with deficits in intellectual function or
a d a p t i ve behavior.

• Halfway houses s e rve as transitional living
facilities for no more than 24 children who
a re 15 years or older. They prov i d e
therapeutic group living to help childre n
make the transition to living in the
c o m m u n i t y.

• T h e rapeutic camps p rovide special outdoor
experience programs for children older than
6 with behavioral pro b l e m s .

Residential Licensing also regulates the
f o l l ow i n g :

• Child-placing agencies which arrange for
placement of children in adoptive or foster
c a re. Agencies are responsible for assuring
that their foster homes meet minimum
s t a n d a rd s ;

• Ma t e rnity homes which provide re s i d e n t i a l
c a re for four or more pregnant women or
women who have given birth within two
weeks prior to the date of admission; and

• Child Ca re Ad m i n i s t rators a re people who
s u p e rvise and exe rcise direct administrative
c o n t rol over a 24-hour child care institution.
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