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SECTION 1  PROFILE OF A CHILD PROTECTION SUIT 

February 2016 

 

The Texas Family Code mandates court oversight of a child protection lawsuit from the time a child is 

removed until a final order is entered, and if DFPS remains a party to the lawsuit, supervision continues after a 

final order. At each juncture, the statutory scheme requires measured progress in the form of specific duties 

and functions that must be performed to ensure timely resolution of a case.  

Strict Time Limits 

The driving force behind the statutory scheme is the requirement that no later than one year after DFPS is 

named conservator, the court must either commence trial on the merits or dismiss the lawsuit.
1
  This deadline 

requires that counsel for the agency carefully track the date DFPS is first named temporary managing 

conservator, calculate the mandatory dismissal date and calendar interim dates.  

In extremely limited circumstances, a court can retain the suit beyond the one year time limit.  This deadline 

can be extended no more than 180 days, if the court finds that “extraordinary circumstances” make it 

necessary for the child to remain in the temporary conservatorship of DFPS and that continuing the order of 

temporary conservatorship is in the child’s best interest.
2
  Similarly, if the court grants a new trial or mistrial 

or the case is remanded following an appeal of a final order the court must schedule a new dismissal date no 

more than 180 days later and set a new trial on the merits within this timeframe.
3
  If an extension is granted in 

either circumstance, the court must make further temporary orders for the safety and welfare of the child and if 

the court fails to commence the trial on the merits before the new dismissal date, the court must dismiss the 

suit.
4
  

These tightly drawn time frames recognize that successful outcomes for children and youth depend on 

permanency.   It is widely acknowledged every child needs the stability and connection of a permanent home 

and that DFPS (or any other organization) makes a poor substitute for a parent.  To that end, DFPS continues 

to work to identify and eliminate barriers to permanency, both systemic and on a case-by-case basis.  With 

ongoing support from the Legislature, the courts, community partners and stakeholders, the urgent need for 

permanency permeates decision-making throughout the child protection system in Texas.  

Attorneys for the agency can best serve DFPS by being prepared, focused and knowledgeable about what must 

be accomplished at every stage along the way. For a quick reference guide for each hearing, consult the 

Hearing Guides in SECTION 3.   

TIP:  ALWAYS Think about ICWA 

The Texas Family Code now requires that the court inquire about Native American heritage and identify 

tribal associations at the Adversary, Status and Permanency Hearings.
5
  This underscores the importance of 

considering at every stage of every case, whether an Indian child may be involved.   If the Indian Child 

Welfare Act (ICWA) may apply, give notice as required, and if a child's status is confirmed, review 

requirements for pleading, placements and judicial findings.   See Practice Guide, SECTION 4, Indian Child 

Welfare Act and SECTION 13, TOOLS, ICWA for forms and notices.  

  

                                                      
1
 TEX. FAM. CODE §263.401(a), mandatory dismissal on the first Monday after the first anniversary of the date DFPS is 

appointed as temporary managing conservator.   
2 TEX. FAM. CODE §263.401(b).   
3 TEX. FAM. CODE §263.401(b-1), as amended by S.B. 206 (84th Sess., effective Sept. 1, 2015). 
4 TEX. FAM. CODE §263.401(c).   
5
 TEX. FAM. CODE §262.201(a-4); 263.201(f-1); 263.306(a)(9), as amended by H.B. 825 (84th Sess., effective Sept. 1, 

2015).  
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Removal Hearings 

 

What DFPS must prove at a removal hearing depends on the circumstances when a child must be removed.  In 

each type of removal, the caseworker's affidavit must contain a complete, concise and accurate summary of 

the evidence that satisfies the applicable standard for removal. A sample affidavit format is available to aid 

caseworkers.
6
 The role of the agency's attorney is to review the affidavit carefully and advise the caseworker 

of any deficiencies or ambiguities.  

 

TIP: Contrary to the Welfare Finding 

In all removal cases, the court must make a finding that it is contrary to the child's welfare to remain with the 

adult(s) from whom the child is legally removed, i.e. the parents. Even if a child is physically removed from a 

non-parent, this finding must be made as to the parent(s) (unless parental rights have been terminated) and any 

managing conservator of a child.
7
 

Ex Parte Order Before Removal  

DFPS may seek an ex parte order authorizing the subsequent removal of a child with sufficient evidence to 

prove:  

• Either an immediate danger to the physical health or safety of the child, or that the child has been a 

victim of neglect or sexual abuse;  

• That it is contrary to the child’s welfare to remain in the home of the adult(s) who the child is legally 

being removed from;  

• That there is not sufficient time, consistent with the child’s physical health or safety to hold an adversary 

hearing; and  

• That reasonable efforts were made to prevent or eliminate the need for removal.
8
  

TIP: Child with Sexually Transmitted Disease  

If DFPS discovers a child under age 11 with a sexually transmitted disease, a petition for emergency removal 

is mandated, unless specific conditions apply.
9
  

Emergency - Ex Parte Order After Removal  

A child cannot be removed without a prior court order unless the totality of the circumstances supports a 

reasonable belief that the child is in immediate danger of serious physical harm or sexual abuse. If a child is 

removed under this authority, the agency must appear in court no later than the next business day with 

sufficient evidence to prove:  

• Either a continuing danger to the physical health or safety of the child if returned to the home, or 

evidence that the child is a victim of sexual abuse or labor or sex trafficking and is at substantial 

risk of future sexual abuse or trafficking;  

• That it is contrary to the child’s welfare to remain in the home of the adult(s) who the child is being 

legally removed from; and  

• That reasonable efforts were made to prevent or eliminate the need for removal.
10

  

 

If a child is removed pursuant to an ex parte hearing, an Adversary Hearing must be set within 14 days, unless 

the court finds good cause to postpone the Adversary Hearing for no more than seven days from the date of 

                                                      
6  See Practice Guide, SECTION 13 TOOLS, Affidavits.   
7  42 U.S.C. §672(a)(2)(A)(ii). 
8  TEX. FAM. CODE  §262.102.   
9  TEX. FAM. CODE  §262.010(a)(2).  
10

 TEX. FAM. CODE §262.107.  



 
4 

the attorney's appointment, to allow the attorney to respond to the petition or prepare for the hearing, or such 

time that both the parent and appointed attorney agree upon in writing.
11

 In that case, the court shall extend a 

temporary order, temporary restraining order, or attachment for the protection of the child until the date of the 

postponed hearing.  All  removal orders must include a warning to parents about the right to be represented by 

an attorney and to have an attorney appointed if the parent appears in opposition, claims indigence and 

requests appointment of an attorney.
12

  

In cases where DFPS is filing for conservatorship of a child with a severe emotional disturbance
13

 solely 

because the parent  is unable to unable to obtain mental health services necessary to protect the safety and 

well-being of the child, DFPS must take some additional actions. If the child has a mental, behavioral or 

emotional disorder of sufficient duration to result in functional impairment that substantially interferes with or 

limits the child's role or ability to function in family, school or community activities, DFPS must, unless it is 

not in the child's best interest, discuss with the parent or caregiver the option of seeking a court order for joint 

managing conservatorship of the child with DFPS prior to filing the suit.
14

  

In addition, if the investigation determines that the caregiver's refusal to allow the child to remain in the home 

(or return, if the child was already in an out-of-home placement or setting) was based on the caregiver's 

inability to obtain the needed mental health services after exhausting all reasonable means available to obtain 

the services, DFPS must not make a finding of abuse or neglect against that person or enter their name in the 

Central Registry of abuse and neglect.
15

  

TIP: Visits to Begin Quickly 

To promote and protect the parent-child bond, DFPS must ensure a parent for whom reunification is planned 

has an opportunity to visit a child within 5 days after the agency is named managing conservator, unless 

visitation is not in the child’s best interest or would conflict with a court order.
16

 

Non-Emergency Hearing 

Often it is the cumulative effect of long term neglect, evidenced by filthy home conditions and a chronic 

failure to attend to a child’s basic needs for food, clothing, medical attention and supervision that results in 

DFPS requesting authority to remove a child on a non-emergency basis. While the timing is not as critical as if 

a child were threatened with imminent physical harm or sexual assault, the impact on a child of long-term, 

serious deprivation of basic care can be devastating. 

If there is not an urgent need for removal, DFPS can seek a court order authorizing removal following a 

noticed hearing. A non-emergency order for removal requires sufficient evidence to prove that: 

 It would be contrary to the child’s welfare to remain in the home of the adult(s) the child is legally being 

removed from;  

 Reasonable efforts were made to prevent or eliminate the need for removal; 

 Appointment of the parent or parents as temporary managing conservator of the child is not in the best 

interest of the child because appointment of the parent as conservator would significantly impair the 

child's physical health or emotional development.
 17

 

The hearing should be set as soon as possible and the parent(s) must receive notice of the hearing (unless 

citation by publication is necessary)
18

 and be served with the petition and affidavit. There is no time frame 

                                                      
11

 TEX. FAM. CODE  §262.201. 
12 TEX. FAM. CODE §262.102(d). 
13

 TEX. FAM. CODE §261.001(9) 
14

 TEX. FAM. CODE §262.352(a), as amended by S.B. 1889, §3 (84th Sess., effective Sept. 1, 2015).  
15

 TEX. FAM. CODE §261.001(4)(B); §261.002(b) as amended by S.B. 1889, §1 (84th Sess., effective Sept. 1, 2015); 40 TEX. 

ADMINISTRATIVE CODE § 700.473. 
16 TEX. FAM. CODE §262.115, as amended by S.B. 206, § 25 (84th Sess., effective Sept.. 1, 2015).  
17 TEX. FAM. CODE §262.205(b).  
18 TEX. FAM. CODE §262.205(d).   
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provided by statute, but best practice is to set the hearing within 14 days of the filing of the petition. If a 

setting cannot be obtained within 14 days, DFPS should consider whether the delay will pose a risk to the 

safety of the child and a more immediate removal is needed. 

As with any removal, a child must be placed with a noncustodial parent or another relative unless it is not in 

the best interest of the child.
19

  

TIP: What's a Hague case?  

The name refers to the Hague Convention on the Civil Aspects of International Child Abduction. Since 2011, 

a Texas court hearing an action for enforcement of a foreign child custody determination or a petition for 

return of an abducted child, is authorized to place a child with DFPS, if a parent or family member does not 

have significant ties to the jurisdiction of the court.
20

 Although few children enter care in this manner, agency 

staff and the courts alike should be aware of this possibility. 

Adversary Hearing 

 
 

If DFPS takes a child into custody in an ex parte proceeding, the court must revisit the issue of removal and 

either enter temporary orders or return the child to the family at an Adversary Hearing conducted within 14 

days of the ex parte hearing, subject to an extension of time as referenced above.  Before the Adversary 

Hearing begins, the court must inform unrepresented parents of the right to retain counsel or, for indigent 

parents who respond in opposition, to have counsel appointed.
21

 The court must also ask all parties 

present whether the child or the child's family has Native American heritage and identify any tribe with 

which the child may be associated.
22

 

 

In order to appoint DFPS as the temporary managing conservator of the child, the court must find: 
 
 

• Danger to the physical health or safety of the child which was caused by an act or failure to act of 

the person entitled to possession; 

• It is contrary to the child’s welfare to remain in the home; 

• The urgent need for protection required immediate removal; and 

• That despite reasonable efforts to prevent or eliminate the need for removal and to return the 
child home, there is a substantial risk of continuing danger to the child in the home.

23
  

 

DFPS must be prepared to show the alternatives to removal DFPS considered, pursued or rejected to meet 

the reasonable efforts requirement.
24  

Services offered to a parent in the past (including services provided 

incident to a prior removal) may be relevant, but reasonable efforts must be shown as to each removal. If the 

court finds the parent subjected the child to aggravated circumstances, no service plan and no reasonable 

efforts are required.  The basis for this finding has been expanded to include certain parental conduct 

involving a child other than the child who is the subject of the suit, as well a parent's status as a registered sex 

offender, in addition to a long list of egregious conduct, Penal Code offenses,  and prior termination of a 

parent's rights on certain grounds.
25

 

  

If the court does not return the child home at this hearing, the court must order placement with a noncustodial 

parent or relative unless it is not in the child’s best interest.
  

Before the hearing, DFPS must perform a 

criminal history and background check of the relatives or other persons identified as potential caregivers 

by the parents and complete a home study of the most appropriate caregiver, if any.
 
 If background, criminal 

                                                      
19 TEX. FAM. CODE §262.205(e). 
20 TEX. FAM. CODE §152.311(c-1).   
21

 TEX. FAM. CODE §§262.201(a-1);107.013, as amended by S.B. 1931, §1, (84th Sess., effective Sept. 1, 2015).  
22

 TEX. FAM. CODE §§262.201(a-4) , as amended by H.B. 825, §1, (84th Sess., effective Sept. 1, 2015). 
23 TEX. FAM. CODE §262.201(A), (B). 
24 In re Pate, 407 S.W. 3d 416 (Tex. App.—Houston [14

th 
Dist.] July 15, 2013 (orig.proceeding). 

25 TEX. FAM. CODE §262.2015, as amended by S.B. 219, §1.164 (84th Sess., effective Sept. 1,2015).   
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history checks and a preliminary evaluation are completed, DFPS may place a child with a relative or 

designated caretaker before a home study is done, but a study must be initiated within 48 hours.
26

  If 

placement with a relative or other designated caretaker has not been made, DFPS must file a statement with 

the court explaining why and what actions the agency is taking, if any, to make such a placement. 

 

The court must inform any parent appearing that their parental rights may be restricted or terminated if the 

parent cannot meet a child’s need for safety, and set a Status Hearing within 60 days of the appointment of 

Temporary Managing Conservatorship.  

 

Unless DFPS' right to make educational decisions has been limited by court order,  within 5 days of being 

named Managing Conservator of the child at an Adversary or Non-Emergency hearing, DFPS must file with 

the court the name and contact information for each person DFPS has named as an "education decision-

maker" for the child and provide a copy to the child's school.
27

 If the child is or may be eligible for special 

education services and a "surrogate parent" was appointed by the court or the school to make special education 

decisions, the name and contact information of that individual must also be included on the form. Any changes 

are to be reported to the child's school within 5 days and updated information included in the permanency 

progress report.
[1]

 

TIP: Placement Selection  

Except with an emergency placement,  DFPS must consult with the child's caseworker, the attorney ad litem, 

the guardian ad litem and any CASA appointed for the child and use clinical protocols to best match a child's 

needs with placement resources.
28

 The Child and Adolescent Needs and Strengths (CANS) Assessment, 

designed to provide a uniform, developmentally appropriate and comprehensive assessment of children and 

youth, will be available June 1, 2016.  

Status Hearing 

No later than 60 days after a temporary order is entered naming DFPS temporary managing conservator, a 

Status Hearing must be held.
29

 In preparation, DFPS must submit a request to the Bureau of Vital Statistics 

to determine whether or not there is another Court of Continuing, Exclusive Jurisdiction (“CCEJ”).
30

 

 

Ten days before the Status Hearing DFPS must submit to the court: 

 

• Any proposed child placement resources form; 

• Any completed home study; 

• The names of any relative or designated caregiver with whom the child has been placed (or an 

explanation why such placement has not occurred and what actions if any DFPS is taking toward 

this goal);
31

 

• A report on notification to relatives of the child's removal; and32 

• A  copy  of  the  visitation  plan  developed  in  collaboration  with  each parent.
33

 

                                                      
26 TEX. FAM. CODE §262.114, as amended by S.B. 206 , §24 (84th Sess, effective Sept. 1, 2015).   
27

DFPS uses  Form 2085-E, Designation of Education Decision-Maker for this purpose. 
[1] TEX. FAM. CODE §263.004, as amended by S.B. 206, §29 (84th Sess, effective Sept. 1, 2015).   
28

 TEX. FAM. CODE §264.107, as amended by S.B. 219, §§ 1.189, 1.203 (84th Sess, effective April 2, 2015) and by S.B. 

206, §§50, 86(25) effective Sept. 1,2015).  
29

   TEX. FAM. CODE §263.201(a). 
30  TEX. FAM. CODE §262.202; Local practice will dictate who within the agency performs this task, but the attorney must 

confirm that the CCEJ check has been done; See Practice Guide, SECTION 13, TOOLS, Court of Continuing & 

Exclusive Jurisdiction, Inquiry On Court Of Continuing Jurisdiction For A Child (VS-168). 
31 TEX. FAM. CODE §263.003 (this information is not required if child is in an adoptive or other permanent placement, 

unlikely at this early stage of the litigation, or if it has already been filed ).   
32 TEX. FAM. CODE §263.007(1). 
33 TEX. FAM. CODE §263.107(d). 
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DFPS must give notice of a child's removal and the options persons may have to participate in the case to:  

 All adults related to the child within the third degree of consanguinity;
34 

 

 Any adult relative of an alleged father (if DFPS has a reasonable basis to believe he is the 

child's biological father);or 

 Anyone identified as a potential relative or designated caregiver on the child placement resources 

form.
35

 

 DFPS may also provide such notice to a relative or other person with a significant and longstanding 

relationship to the child. Notice is not required for any person who is served with citation in the suit, or to 

anyone with a history of family or domestic violence that would make the person unsuitable to serve as a 

placement or support for the child.
36  

DFPS' report to the court should detail agency efforts to identify, 

locate and provide information to the listed persons and explain why, if these efforts failed. 

 

At the Status Hearing the court must: 
•  Advise each parent not represented by an attorney of the right to representation and to 

appointed counsel for an indigent parent who responds in opposition to the suit (whether DFPS 
seeks termination or appointment of a conservator)

37
; 

• Assess diligent search efforts for any missing parents and whether parents and other persons 

before the court have supplied information needed to identify and locate additional relatives and 

completed the child placement resources form, as appropriate; 

• Assess DFPS' efforts to identify, locate and notify relatives and others regarding the removal of 

the child as required by §262.1095; 

• Ask all parties whether the child or family has Native American heritage and identify any tribe 

with whom the child may be associated.  

• Review the service plan and make findings as to whether the plan ensures that reasonable 

efforts are made to enable the parents to provide a safe environment for the child, whether it is 

reasonably tailored to address any specific issues, whether the parents understand the plan, and 

whether the parents and CPS have signed the plan; 

• Approve the plan with or without modification and incorporate the plan into a court order; 

• Review the visitation plan required by §263.107 and render any orders relating to visitation, as 

provided by §§263.108 and 263.109; 

• Review the child's medical care as required by §266.007 and make a finding as to whether the 

court has identified the individual who has the right to provide medical consent for the child under 

§266.003; 

• Advise parents that their progress on the service plan, including gaining the skills or knowledge 

as stated in the plan, will be reviewed at all future hearings; and 

• Warn parents that unless they can offer the child a safe environment, termination of parental 

rights is an option.
38

 

 

The Status Hearing is limited to the contents and execution of the service plan, except as otherwise provided 

by Subchapter B, Chapter 263.
39

  

  

                                                      
34 Relatives within the 3rd degree of consanguinity, as defined in § 573.023, GOV'T CODE, means the child's grandparents, 

great-grandparents, adult aunts and uncles, adult siblings, and adult nieces and nephews. 
35

 TEX. FAM. CODE §262.1095, as amended by S.B. 206, §23 (84th Sess., effective Sept. 1, 2015).  
36

 TEX. FAM. CODE §262.1095(c). 
37

 TEX. FAM. CODE §263.0061. 
38

 TEX. FAM. CODE §§263.006; 263.202. 
39

 TEX. FAM. CODE §§263.202(b). 
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TIP: Plan Ahead for Permanency Care Assistance 

If a child is placed with a relative or kinship placement that may become permanent, careful planning is 

essential to avoid inadvertently disqualifying a child’s caretaker for financial support.  The Permanency 

Care Assistance Program ("PCA") offers monthly cash assistance and eligibility for Medicaid.
40

To qualify a 

child must reside  with the caretaker  for at least six consecutive months after the person becomes licensed or 

verified to provide foster care and this must occur  before the relative/fictive kin is named managing 

conservator.  Moreover, if the court grants either parent or DFPS joint managing conservatorship, the 

caretaker will not be eligible for the PCA program.
41

  

 

1st - Relative/fictive kin licensed/verified + 

2nd - 6 months residence with child + 

3rd Appointment as Managing Conservator 

Permanency Planning Meetings 

 

Finding permanency for every child in the agency's temporary conservatorship as quickly as possible is a 

daunting task.  By using family group decision-making to tailor solutions for individual families and drawing 

on the expertise of multi-disciplinary teams, DFPS continually strives to shorten the time a child must wait to 

find a permanent placement.  Time frames for permanency planning meetings are no longer in statute, but the 

subject of rules to be adopted by the Health and Human Services Commission.
42

  

Permanency Hearing BEFORE Final Hearing 

 

Texas law codifies a comprehensive list of issues the court and DFPS must address in order to highlight and 

eliminate barriers to permanency at the earliest possible time.  A permanency hearing must be held no later 

than 180 days after DFPS is named as temporary managing conservator,
43 

or 120 days from the status 

hearing.  An o t h e r  permanency hearing, which must be held within 120 days of the first one, buttresses 

efforts of the court and the parties to tackle specific issues that might delay permanency for a child.
44 

 

 

Notice is required and all parties must be given a copy of the permanency plan and the permanency progress 

report at least 10 days before the hearing.
45  

Unless a  child is in an adoptive placement or another 

permanent placement or it has already been filed, 10 days before the hearing DFPS must file any proposed 

child placement resources form, any completed home study, and the names of any relative or designated 

caregiver with whom the child has been placed or an explanation why such placement has not occurred 

and what actions, if any, DFPS is taking to place the child with the relative. 

 
 
A child's permanency plan must include concurrent goals, both a primary and at least one alternate goal.

   

The goals for a child may include: 

• Reunification with a parent or other person from whom the child was removed; 

• Termination of parental rights and adoption by a relative or other suitable person; 

• The award of permanent managing conservatorship to a relative or other suitable person; or 

• Another planned permanent living arrangement.46 

                                                      
40

 TEX. FAM. CODE , Ch. 264, Permanency Care Assistance Program. 
41 40 TEX. ADMINISTRATIVE CODE  §700.1029(d)(2). 
42 TEX. FAM. CODE §263.009, as amended by S.B. 206, §§30, 86(15) (84th Sess., effective Sept. 1, 2015); 40 TEX. 

ADMINISTRATIVE CODE  , Chapter 700, Subchapter L (effective March 1, 2016). 
43 TEX. FAM. CODE §263.304(a). 
44 TEX. FAM. CODE §263.305. 
45 TEX. FAM. CODE §263.0021, as amended by S.B, 219 and resdesignated and amended by S.B. 206 (84 th Sess., effective 

Sept. 1, 2015).  
46

 TEX. FAM. CODE §§263.3026; 263. 306(a-1)(4)(C). 
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If the goal for a child is another planned, permanent living arrangement ("APPLA"), DFPS must also 

document the desired permanency outcome for the child and a compelling reason the other permanent goals 

are not in the child's best interest.
47 

 
The primary duty of a court presiding over a Permanency Hearing is to return the child home if it safe to do 
so, enter any orders necessary to effectuate permanency and set a dismissal date.  To promote better outcomes 
and ensure compliance with federal law, the Legislature has crafted a long list of issues to be addressed and 
findings that must be made.

 
Rigorous requirements relating to diligent search efforts, inquiries about Native 

American heritage, assessments of a child's needs, and related issues provide a solid framework to support 
permanency. Specifically, the court is directed to: 

• Identify persons present in court, and those noticed but failing to appear;
48

 

• Advise each parent not represented by an attorney of the right to representation and to 

appointed counsel for an indigent parent who responds in opposition to the suit  (whether  DFPS  

seeks  termination  or  appointment  of  a  conservator)  and appoint counsel as required;
49

 

 Ask all parties present whether the child or the child's family has Native American heritage and 

identify any tribe with which the child may be associated;
50

 

• For  a  child  age  4  and  older,  consult  with  the  child  in  a  developmentally appropriate 

manner about the permanency plan, if it is in child's best interest;
51

 

• Review the efforts of DFPS to: 

 L o c a t e  necessary persons;
52

 

  Request service of citation, including service by publication;
53

  

  Obtain assistance of parents to locate missing parent, alleged father, or relative;
54

 

 Locate relatives for placement purposes;
55

  

 Ensure the child has regular, ongoing opportunities to engage in age-appropriate normalcy 

activities;
56

 and 

 Finalize the child's permanency plan;
57

 

• Review efforts of parents and family to provide location information regarding any missing 

parent, alleged father, or relative;
58

 

• Review the visitation plan and render any appropriate order;
59

 

• Evaluate parties' compliance with temporary orders and the service plan and the extent to which 

progress has been made toward alleviating or mitigating the causes for the child's placement in 

foster care;
60

 

 Review the child's permanency progress report to: 

 Determine the safety and well-being of the child and whether the child's needs are 

being adequately addressed;
61

 

 Determine necessity of continued substitute care, appropriateness of placement, 

whether the placement is in the best interest of the child, and whether other plans or 

services are needed;
62

 

 Determine the appropriateness of the primary and alternate permanency goals for the 

child;
63

 

 Review child's medical care, whether child was given an opportunity to give an 

                                                      
47

 TEX. FAM. CODE §263.306(a-1)(4)(H). 
48 TEX. FAM. CODE § 263.306(a)(1). 
49

 TEX. FAM. CODE §§ 107.013; 263.0061; 263.203. 
50 TEX. FAM. CODE § 263.306(a)(9). 
51 TEX. FAM. CODE § 263.302. 
52 TEX. FAM. CODE § 263.306(a-1)(2)(A). 
53 TEX. FAM. CODE §§ 263.0021, as amended by S.B. 219 and redesignated and amended by S.B. 206 (84th Reg. Sess., 

effective Sept. 1, 2015); 263.306(a-1)(2)(A). 
54 TEX. FAM. CODE § 263.306(a-1)(2)(B). 
55 TEX. FAM. CODE § 263.306(a-1)(2).  
56 TEX. FAM. CODE § 263.306(c). 
57 TEX. FAM. CODE § 263.306(a-1)(4)(C).  
58 TEX. FAM. CODE § 263.306(a)(3). 
59 TEX. FAM. CODE § 263.306(a)(4). 
60 TEX. FAM. CODE § 263.306(a-1)(3). 
61 TEX. FAM. CODE § 263.306(a-1)(4)(A). 
62 TEX. FAM. CODE § 263.306(a-1)(4)(B). 
63 TEX. FAM. CODE § 263.306(a-1)(4)(C). 
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opinion on this care, and, if psychotropic drugs are prescribed, make specific required 

findings as to whether appropriate psychosocial therapies, behavior strategies and other 

non-pharmacological interventions have been provided and whether t h e  c h i l d  

h a s  been seen by the prescribing physician at least once every 90 days for 

medication review;
64

 

 Determine whether t h e  child's education needs and goals have been identified 

and addressed  and  identify  an  education  decision-maker  if  not  previously 

identified;
65

 

 If a child is 14 or older, order transitional living services;
66

 and 

 For a child whose permanency goal is APPLA, identify the child's desired permanency 

outcome, and whether APPLA is currently the best permanency plan for the child, and 

if so, provide compelling reasons why other permanency plans are not in the best 

interest of the child;
67

 

 

From DFPS’ perspective, a permanency hearing requires thorough preparation to show exactly why the 

child cannot be returned home safely (if the agency is not recommending return), t o  i d e n t i f y  what 

remains to be accomplished and when that can be expected to be done. In addition, DFPS must lay the 

groundwork for a wide array of issues the court must consider.   A proactive approach to this process by 

attorneys for the agency will best serve the child, will facilitate a court's review and, if the case ultimately 

goes to trial, will help to focus the litigation. 

  

Monitored Return Option 

 

A court may also order a child returned to the parents without dismissing the case, in order to monitor the 

reunification process.  The monitoring period is limited to 180 days, at which point the suit must be 

dismissed if the parent has performed successfully. If a child must be returned to care following an 

unsuccessful monitored return, the court then sets a new dismissal date.
68 

 

 

Final Hearings 

 Ultimately if a child cannot be safety returned to a parent, DFPS may seek termination of parental rights so a 

child can be placed for adoption with a relative or other appropriate person.   Although it is sometimes 

necessary, naming DFPS as a child's permanent managing  conservator  without  termination  of  the  

child’s  parental  rights  is  only appropriate if no other, more permanent option is available.  If a nonparent 

is appointed as a managing conservator, DFPS must explain the differences between conservatorship and 

adoption to the proposed conservator and any such court order must address specific authorizations listed in 

the statute, related to medical, education and related needs of the child. 
69

 

 

Without question, this stage of the litigation requires careful preparation, adherence to procedural 

requirements and close coordination between DFPS staff and attorneys representing the agency.  Evidence of 

DFPS’ efforts to locate a missing parent, the extent of a parent's compliance with the service plan and the 

child’s current status and needs may all be crucial at this juncture.  If termination of parental rights is 

requested, there must be clear and convincing evidence of at least one statutory ground for termination of 

parental rights and that termination is in the best interests of the child.
70 

Attorneys representing DFPS must 

                                                      
64 TEX. FAM. CODE § 263.306(a-1)(4)(D)-(E). 
65 TEX. FAM. CODE §§ 263.306(a-1)(4)(F) ; 264.1072; 42 U.S.C. §675. 
66 TEX. FAM. CODE § 263.306(a-1)(4)(G). 
67 TEX. FAM. CODE § 263.306(a-1)(4)(H). 
68

TEX. FAM. CODE §263.403. 
69

 TEX. FAM. CODE §263.408, added by S.B. 314, §1 (84TH Sess., effective Sept. 1, 2015).  
70

 TEX. FAM. CODE §161.001; Holley v. Adams, 544 S.W.2d 367 (Tex. 1976), non-exclusive list of best interest factors 
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be prepared to assess  all  procedural  and  substantive  aspects  of  a  case  before  proceeding  to  trial.
71 

Fortunately, many experienced litigators are available to mentor, share resources and discuss strategies.  

Contact a local Regional Attorney, the Appellate Unit or the Office of General Counsel for assistance. 

 

Permanency Hearing AFTER Final Hearing 

 

Recent changes to the Family Code highlight the need for ongoing permanency efforts if the court names DFPS 

as a child's permanent managing conservator.  In this circumstance, the court must review the child’s 

placement at least every six months until the DFPS is no longer the child's managing conservator.
72

 If a final 

order names DFPS as managing conservator and terminates parental rights, the court must conduct the initial 

permanency hear ing no later than the 90th
  

day after the final order is rendered and every six months 

thereafter until the DFPS is no longer the managing c conservator. 
73

 

 

A permanency progress report must be filed no later than the 10
th

 day before the permanency hearing.  The 

contents of this report is specific and designed to enable the court to conduct a comprehensive review.  This 

hearing requires that the court: 

 Identify all persons and parties present;
74

 

 For a child age 4 and older, consult with the child in a developmentally appropriate manner 

about the permanency or transition plan, if it is in child's best interest;
75

 

 

 Review the efforts of DFPS to: 

 Notify all persons entitled to notice;
76

 and 

 Ensure the child has regular, ongoing opportunities to engage in age-appropriate 

normalcy activities, including activities not listed in the child's service plan;
77

 

 Review the child's permanency progress report to determine: 

 The safety and well-being of the child and whether the child's needs, including any 

medical or special needs, are being adequately addressed;
78

 

 The continuing necessity and appropriateness of the child's placement and whether 

the placement continues to be in the best interest of the child;
79

 

 For a child placed in institutional care, whether e f for ts  have  been made  to  

ensure  the placement is the least restrictive alternative consistent with child’s 

best interest and needs;
80

 

 The appropriateness of the primary and alternative permanency goals for the child 

and whether DFPS has made reasonable efforts to finalize the permanency plan;
81

 

 Whether DFPS has exercised due diligence to place the child for adoption if 

parental rights are terminated;
82

 

 For a child whose permanency goal is APPLA, the identification of the child's 

desired permanency outcome, and whether APPLA is currently the best 

                                                      
71

 See Practice Guide, SECTION  5 LITIGATION ESSENTIALS; SECTION 8 TERMINATION; SECTION 7 

EVIDENCE; SECTION 9 JURY TRIALS; SECTION 10  DE NOVO HEARINGS AND POST TRIAL 

STRATEGIES; and SECTION 10TRIAL NOTEBOOK. 
72

 TEX. FAM. CODE §263.501(b),  
73

 TEX. FAM. CODE §263.501(a), 
74 TEX. FAM. CODE § 263.5031(1). 
75 TEX. FAM. CODE § 263.302. 
76 TEX. FAM. CODE §§ 263.0021; 263.5031(2). 
77 TEX. FAM. CODE § 263.503(c), as amended by S.B. 219, S.B. 206, and S.B. 1407 (84th Reg. Sess., effective Sept. 1, 

2015); NOTE: S.B. 206 repealed section 263.503 in its entirety, but S.B. 1407 added a subsection (c) without reference to 

the repeal. The Family Code reconciled these amendments by deleting subsections (a)-(b), and adding in (c), so the 

requirement from (c) is included here, until further reconciliation. 
78 TEX. FAM. CODE §§ 263.0021; 263.5031(3)(A). 
79 TEX. FAM. CODE §§ 263.0021; 263.5031(3)(B). 
80 TEX. FAM. CODE §§263.0021; 263.5031(3)(C). 
81 TEX. FAM. CODE §§ 263.0021; 263.5031(3)(D). 
82 TEX. FAM. CODE §§ 263.0021; 263.5031(3)(D)(i). 
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permanency plan for the child, and if so, provide compelling reasons why it 

continues to not be in the best interest of the child to return home, be placed for 

adoption, be placed with a legal guardian, or be placed with a fit and willing 

relative;
83

 

 For  a  child  age  14  and  older,  whether services that are needed to assist the 

child's transition to adult independent living are available in the child's 

community;
84

 

 Whether the child is receiving appropriate medical care, including whether the child 

has been provided the opportunity to express the child's opinion on this care, as 

well as whether the child has been provided the required specifics about any 

psychotropic medications, including whether the child is being provided with 

appropriate services and is being seen by the prescribing practitioner at least once 

every 90 days;
85

 

 Whether an education decision-maker for the child has been identified, whether the 

child's education needs and goals have been identified and addressed, and 

whether there have been any major changes in the child's school performance or 

any serious disciplinary events;
86

 

 For a child in DFPS permanent managing conservatorship whose parental rights 

are not terminated, whether to order DFPS to provide services to a parent for not 

more than six months if the child has not been placed with a relative or other 

individual seeking permanent managing conservatorship of the child and it is 

determined that further efforts at reunification with the parent are in the best 

interest of the child and likely to result in the child's safe return to the parent;
87

 

 Whether DFPS has identified a family member or other caring adult who has made 

a permanent commitment to the child;
88

 and 

 Set the next permanency hearing within six months, and continue to set these hearings 

within six months until DFPS is no longer the child's managing conservator.
89

 

 

Without question permanency efforts incorporating all facets of each child's circumstances must continue in 

full force until DFPS is replaced by a permanent caretaker or a young adult leaves care sometime between 

age 18 and 22.  The special protections available for youth aging out of foster care are discussed in the next 

section below.  

 

Extended Opportunities for Young Adults  

 

Young adults who leave foster care without a supportive family or other support system face increased risk of 

homelessness, poverty, lack of health care, involvement in the criminal justice system, unplanned pregnancies 

and substance abuse.   Fortunately, additional options for support and services have been put in place in 

recent years to support youth making the transition from foster care until their 21st
 

birthday (or 22
nd 

birthday for young adults pursuing a high school diploma or GED).
90 

 

 

Delivery of services to support a youth's successful transition to adulthood begin as early as age 14, but at 17 ½ 

years old, the court and attorneys must be aware of the options and how to best effectuate the choices a youth  

makes.   Key concepts in this arena include trial independence, extended foster care, transitional living services 

and extended jurisdiction.  

 

                                                      
83 TEX. FAM. CODE §§ 263.0021; 263.5031(3)(E). 
84 TEX. FAM. CODE §§ 263.0021; 263.5031(3)(F). 
85 TEX. FAM. CODE §§ 263.0021; 263.5031(3)(G)-(H). 
86 TEX. FAM. CODE §§ 263.0021; 263.5031(3)(I). 
87 TEX. FAM. CODE §§ 263.0021; 263.5031(3)(J). 
88 TEX. FAM. CODE §§ 263.0021; 263.5031(3)(K). 
89

 TEX. FAM. CODE §263.501(a). 
90

 TEX. FAM. CODE Ch. 263, Subchapter G; 40 TEX. ADMINISTRATIVE CODE  §700.346(C).  
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Trial independence ("TI") is a mechanism that allows a young adult to return to care after leaving, in the same 

way a person often returns to the family home as needed for extra support.   If a young adult does not enter 

extended foster care or exits extended foster care before his or her 21st
 
birthday, a mandatory six month 

period of trial independence begins on either the young adult's 18th birthday or the date of exit from 

extended foster care. Whatever a youth's circumstance, the best practice is to request that the court order the 

maximum trial independence period of 12 months.  This will give a young adult the best opportunity to access 

services in the future. 

  

A young adult who exits and reenters foster care can have more than one TI period. A new period of TI 

begins each time a young adult exits extended foster care until the young adult's 21
st 

birthday. No court 

hearings are required during a TI period; however, the court must resume review hearings if a young adult 

returns to foster care.  If a young adult was originally eligible for Title IV-E federal foster care, this 

eligibility continues when the young adult re-enters care after the TI period.  

 

Extended foster care allows a "young adult" (a youth in foster care on the day before his or her 18th birthday) 

to remain in care beyond age 18 by voluntarily delegating responsibility for placement and care to DFPS. This 

allows a young adult to reside with a foster parent or other residential services provider licensed or approved 

by DFPS or verified by a licensed or certified child placing agency and paid for by DFPS.  

 

A young adult who does not remain in extended foster care, may elect to receive transitional living services.  

These services include life skills training, as well as planning financial and medical support services. 

 

Extended jurisdiction refers to a court's exercise authority over a case after a youth turns 18 years old.  All 

young adults in extended foster care are subject to extended jurisdiction during which the court must conduct 

review hearings.
 91

  A young adult who receives transitional living services can request voluntary extended 

jurisdiction of the court beyond the expiration of the TI period.
92 

If the court grants extended jurisdiction, 

hearings are not required, but may b e  conducted at the request of the young adult.  The court's extended 

jurisdiction ends on the young adult's 21
st
 birthday or when the young adult withdraws consent in writing 

or in court.  If the young adult returns to extended foster care, the court's jurisdiction continues until the 

young adult leaves foster care and a new period of TI expires or the young adult turns 21 years old.
93

  A 

court is not authorized to appoint DFPS or the Department of Aging and Disability Services as managing 

conservator or guardian of a young adult and cannot order DFPS to provide services other than those 

authorized under state law for which sufficient funds are appropriated.
94

  

 

The court is also authorized to extend jurisdiction on its' own motion to allow DFPS to make a referral for 

guardianship services at the Department of Aging and Disability Services (DADS).  In this circumstance, 

the court's jurisdiction over a young adult ends on the date the guardian is appointed and qualifies, unless 

the guardian requests extension of jurisdiction.
  

If a guardian is appointed for the young adult and requests 

continued jurisdiction of the family court, the family court may not issue an order that conflicts with an order 

of the Probate Court with jurisdiction over the young adult. 

 

If a court exercises extended jurisdiction in any of the above circumstances, the court may continue or renew 

the appointment of an attorney ad litem and guardian ad litem for the young adult.
95

 

 

                                                      
91 TEX. FAM. CODE §263.602. 
92

 TEX. FAM. CODE §263.6021. 
93

 TEX. FAM. CODE §263.602(f). 
94

 TEX. FAM. CODE §263.607 (appropriations must be sufficient to comply with the court order and the department's 

obligations to other young adults entitled to similar services). 
95

 TEX. FAM. CODE §263.605. 




