Home - Community-Based Care

Content begins here

Metroplex East (Region 3E)

smiling kids

About Metroplex East

The Metroplex East community, previously known as Region 3E, is comprised of the following 9 counties in and around Dallas: Collin, Dallas, Ellis, Fannin, Grayson, Hunt, Kaufman, Navarro, and Rockwall.

The Single Source Continuum Contractor (SSCC) for this area is EMPOWER. Visit the EMPOWER website to learn about them.

Joint Operations Manual

DFPS/EMPOWER Joint Operation Manual


  • April 18, 2022: Request for application released
  • February 23, 2023: Contract awarded* to EMPOWER
  • March 1, 2023: Stage I start-up
  • September 1, 2023: Stage I go-live
  • September 1, 2023: Stage II start-up
  • March 1, 2024: Stage II go-live (current activity)
  • March 1, 2028: Contract renewal
  • March 1, 2033: Community area re-procurementVisual of timeline
    *Steps to view the executed contract for EMPOWER (# HHS001183200003):
    Contract Database Search icon
    1. Go to the Legislative Budget Board (LBB) contract database website and click on “Contract Database Search”.
    2. In the Contract ID field, enter the contract number.
    3. In the Agency dropdown, select “530 - Family & Protective Services”.
    4. Scroll to the bottom of the screen and click on the “Submit Search” button.
    5. When the results appear, click on the “Display Expanded Data Set” button.
    6. Next, click on the "+" icon to view contract information.
    7. To view a document in the Attachments section, click on the magnifying glass icon magnifying glass icon  to the left of the document you wish to review.

    Note: The contract file name typically appears with the contract number followed by the word “Contract”.


Stay informed by visiting the EMPOWER website.



For concerns:

Title Name / Email
President/CEO Shirley Dwyer
Senior Vice President Linda Garcia
Vice President of Permanency Nora DeWitt
Vice President of Permamency Brittney Pearson
Vice President of Permamency Susanne Arnold
Vice President of Permanency Support Shirlon Douglas-Harris
Director of Community Engagement Ashley Burton
Director of Permanency Support Brenda Littlefield
Director of Intake & Placement Camille Richard
Director of Permanency Services Arizat Adams
Director of Permanency Services Teleisha Austin
Director of Permanency Services Jamonica Brown
Director of Permanency Services Stephanie Garcia
Director of Permanency Services Mario Gonzalez
Director of Permanency Services Anika Jones
Director of Permanency Services Paula Lee
Director of Permanency Services Jennifer Porter-Jones
Director of Permanency Services Keshaun Vinson
Director of Permanency Support Lacy Griffin
Director of Permanency Support Diana Polk


Click here to view all CBC forms on the DFPS website.

Learn More

smiling kids

Community Areas

map with pins in it

Expanding Community-Based Care

caseworker speaking with a parent and child

Frequently Asked Questions