The Texas Family and Protective Services Council assists the DFPS Commissioner in developing rules and policies for the department. The council has eight members of the public appointed by the Governor.

Meet the Council Members

Michelle Liles Treviño

Michelle Liles Treviño of Leander is a managing editor for the Journal of the American Planning Association. She volunteers as a librarian, testing monitor, and chaperone for Founders Classical Academy – Leander. Treviño received a Bachelor of Arts in English and Art History from Florida State University and a Master of Arts in Art History and Archeology from New York University Institute of Fine Arts. Her term ends February 1, 2029.

Courtney Jones

Cortney Jones of Austin is the Founder and Executive Director of Change 1, a community based organization that collaborates with local agencies and individuals dedicated to foster care alumni success. In addition, she is a motivational speaker and previously worked for Child Protective Services. She is a member of the Child Welfare Race Equity Collaborative Advisory Committee and the Texas Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) Public Policy and Communications committees. She is a former board member of Adoption Knowledge Affiliates and Head Start Child Inc. and a former member of the Supreme Court of Texas Children’s Commission Foster Care School Discipline Committee. She previously served on the National Foster Care Youth and Alumni Policy Council, and served as a field instructor with the University of Texas’ School of Social Work. Cortney received a Bachelor in Social Work from Texas A&M University-Commerce and a Master in Social Work from Texas State University. Jones’ term expires February 1, 2025.

Julie Krawczyk

Julie Krawczyk of Garland is Director of the Elder Financial Safety at The Senior Source. She is a member of the Adult Protective Services of Dallas Community Board and treasurer of the Rowlett High School Parent Teacher Student Association. Krawczyk received a Bachelor of Science in Psychology and English from Southern Vermont College and a Master of Arts in Management from Dallas Baptist University. Krawczyk’s term expires February 1, 2025.

Liesa Hackett

Liesa Hackett of Huntsville is a retired accountant for the City of Huntsville and is the current owner and mediator of Crystal Resolutions, LLC. Since retiring, she has started Yoga for Veterans and Seniors and a free Veterans Breakfast program. She is a member of Southeast Texas Housing Finance Corporation, HEARTS Veterans Museum of Texas, and Community Organization for Missionary Endeavor and is a member of St. Paul Methodist Church, where she is the communications and social media officer. She volunteers for veterans and seniors in Walker County, Huntsville Lions Club, City of Huntsville Veterans Affairs Advisory Board, Dispute Resolution Center of Montgomery County, American Red Cross, and as a veteran's representative for Alamo Hospice. She is the former chair of the Council for Diversity Huntsville-Walker County Chamber of Commerce, former president of the Huntsville Leadership Institute, former Chaplain and Presidents and Secretaries Council member of the Lions Clubs District 2-S2, and former board member of CASA of Walker, San Jacinto & Trinity Counties. She is a veteran and served 14 years in the U.S. Army. Hackett received a Bachelor of Science in Business from Excelsior College. Her term ends February 1, 2029.

Bonnie Hellums

Bonnie Hellums (Chair) of Houston has served as chair of the Council since 2019. She is a visiting judge and previously served 20 years as judge of the 247th Family District Court in Harris County and started a Family Drug Court and Infants and Toddlers Court for Harris County. She is a member of the State Bar of Texas, Houston Bar Association, and American Bar Association and a fellow of the American Psychotherapy Association and the Texas Bar Foundation. She is former member of the Supreme Court of Texas Permanent Judicial Commission for Children, Youth, and Families and the Texas Office for the Prevention of Developmental Disabilities Board. Additionally, she is a board member of Harris Center for Mental Health and IDD, DePelchin Children’s Center, The Transformation Foundation, The Recovery Center, Behavioral Health for Children, Texas Judicial Commission on Mental Health, Texas Council of Community Centers, and the Sobering Center. Hellums received a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology and Religion from Southern Methodist University, a Master of Education in Counseling and Psychology from the University of Illinois, and a Juris Doctor from South Texas College of Law. Her term ends February 1, 2029.

Enrique Mata

Enrique Mata of El Paso is the Executive Director of the Paso del Norte Center at Meadows Mental Health Policy Institute. In this role, he works to cultivate collaborations by providing technical and policy support and strengthening connections to state and national programs and other resources so that individuals and families can access mental health services and support where and when it is needed. Prior to his current role, Enrique served as Senior Program Officer with Paso del Norte Health Foundation. He has more than 25 years of experience in health philanthropy including designing, implementing, and evaluating multi-million dollar initiatives. He is also certified as an advanced public health nurse and advanced nurse executive by the American Nurses Credentialing Center. He is a member of the American Nurses Association, Sigma Theta Tau Nursing Honor Society, and The University of Texas at El Paso Alumni Association. He serves on the UT El Paso School of Nursing Advisory Board, The El Paso Behavioral Health Consortium, and the El Paso 211 Advisory Board. Mata received a Bachelor of Science in Nursing from UT El Paso and a Master of Science in Public Health from Walden University. Mata’s term expires  February 1, 2025.

Omedi “Dee Dee” Cantu Arismendez

Omedi “Dee Dee” Cantu Arismendez of Alice is the American Recue Plan Project Manager for GrantWorks Inc. She is a life member of VFW Auxiliary and a member of the Rotary Club of Alice. Arismendez’s term expires Feb.1, 2027.

Courtney Jones

Connie Almeida, Ph.D., of Richmond is the director of the Department of Behavioral Health Services for Fort Bend County, and is a licensed psychologist and licensed specialist in school psychology with over 35 years of experience working with children and adults with disabilities. During the last decade, she has also worked with courts in Fort Bend and Harris Counties to implement the Infant Toddler Court Initiative. She is a member of the Texas Psychological Association, Lighthouse of Houston Board of Directors, and the Fort Bend CASA Advisory Council. Almeida’s term expires Feb. 1, 2027.