Authority/Reference(s) Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act of 2006
Revision Date December 15, 2023


The Federal Funding Accountability and Transparency Act (FFATA) of 2006 and associated 2008 amendments mandates that federal agencies and prime grantees, report specific subrecipient information. DFPS gathers this information on form 4734 FFATA Certification. Subrecipients receive federal funds through the prime grantee, such as DFPS.

For more information on how a subrecipient is determined, review 2.3 Determination of Contracting Relationship.

FFATA requires the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) to provide full disclosure to the public of federal spending through a single searchable database that identifies all entities or organizations receiving federal funds in any given fiscal year. The public website, which can be found at, is searchable by contractor, state, congressional district, federal government agency/department/program, or type of product or service.

DFPS Office of Finance Responsibilities

The DFPS Office of Finance is responsible for determining the Federal Assistance Listing Number (ALN) formerly known as Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) and Federal Award Identification Number (FAIN) in addition to reporting subrecipient data through the FFATA Sub-award Reporting System (FSRS). The DFPS Office of Finance must report required information:

  • Annually for existing subrecipient contracts; or
  • By the end of the month following a subrecipient contract being executed, or when the obligation was made. For example, if a federal grant contract was effective October 10, 2019, DFPS Office of Finance has until November 30, 2019 to report the award. Therefore, all awards made during October must be reported by November 30th of the same year.

Contract Manager and Subrecipient Responsibility

Subrecipients must provide their DFPS contract manager with required information and certifications by completing the 4734 FFATA Certification. DFPS can only award to an entity that has a Unique Entity Identifier (UEI) and an active status on the System for Award Management (SAM) website. For further information on obtaining a UEI number, refer to the SAM website.

Exemptions to FFATA Reporting

Subrecipients that:

  • Have federal grant contracts valued at less than $25,000.
  • Have a gross income of less than $300,000 in the previous tax year.
  • Are individuals (unrelated to any business or non-profit organization).
  • Are receiving Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF).
  • Are classified as interagency.