Collaborations with Transition Centers

map Region 1 includes Armstrong, Bailey, Briscoe, Carson, Castro, Childress, Cochran, Collingsworth, Crosby, Dallam, Deaf Smith, Dickens, Donley, Floyd, Garza, Gray, Hale, Hall, Hansford, Hartley, Hemphill, Hockley, Hutchinson, King, Lamb, Lipscomb, Lubbock, Lynn, Moore, Motley, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Roberts, Sherman, Swisher, Terry, Wheeler, and Yoakum counties Region 2 includes Archer, Baylor, Brown, Callahan, Clay, Coleman, Comanche, Cottle, Eastland, Fisher, Foard, Hardeman, Haskell, Jack, Jones, Kent, Knox, Mitchell, Montague, Nolan, Runnels, Scurry, Shackelford, Stephens, Stonewall, Taylor, Throckmorton, Wichita, Wilbarger, and Young counties Region 3 includes Collin, Cooke, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Erath, Fannin, Grayson, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Navarro, Palo Pinto, Parker, Rockwall, Somervell, Tarrant, and Wise counties Region 4 includes Anderson, Bowie, Camp, Cass, Cherokee, Delta, Franklin, Gregg, Harrison, Henderson, Hopkins, Lamar, Marion, Morris, Panola, Rains, Red River, Rusk, Smith, Titus, Upshur, Van Zandt, and Wood counties Region 5 includes Angelina, Hardin, Houston, Jasper, Jefferson, Nacogdoches, Newton, Orange, Polk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, Shelby, Trinity, and Tyler counties Region 6 includes Austin, Brazoria, Chambers, Colorado, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Walker, Waller, and Wharton counties Region 7 includes Bastrop, Bell, Blanco, Bosque, Brazos, Burleson, Burnet, Caldwell, Coryell, Falls, Fayette, Freestone, Grimes, Hamilton, Hays, Hill, Lampasas, Lee, Leon, Limestone, Llano, Madison, McLennan, Milam, Mills, Robertson, San Saba, Travis, Washington, and  Williamson counties Region 8 includes Atascosa, Bandera, Bexar, Calhoun, Comal, DeWitt, Dimmit, Edwards, Frio, Gillespie, Goliad, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Jackson, Karnes, Kendall, Kerr, Kinney, La Salle, Lavaca, Maverick, Medina, Real, Uvalde, Val Verde, Victoria, Wilson, and Zavala counties Region 9 includes Andrews, Borden, Coke, Concho, Crane, Crockett, Dawson, Ector, Gaines, Glasscock, Howard, Irion, Kimble, Loving, Martin, Mason, McCulloch, Menard, Midland, Pecos, Reagan, Reeves, Schleicher, Sterling, Sutton, Terrell, Tom Green, Upton, Ward, and Winkler counties Region 10 includes Brewster, Culberson, El Paso, Hudspeth, Jeff Davis, and Presidio counties Region 11 includes Aransas, Bee, Brooks, Cameron, Duval, Hidalgo, Jim Hogg, Jim Wells, Kenedy, Kleberg, Live Oak, McMullen, Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio, Starr, Webb, Willacy, and Zapata counties

find your DFPS region by county

Transition centers provide a central clearinghouse of services for the diverse needs of current and former foster youth, homeless youth, and other at-risk youth. PAL and CPS caseworkers refer young adults to Transition Centers within their regions for additional assistance.

Services include employment assistance, training, educational support, access and referrals to community partners and resources, and various transitional living services such as PAL classes, job search and job readiness classes, food and housing assistance, and substance abuse/mental health counseling. Transition Centers also provide co-location opportunities for local partners such as local Workforce Solutions offices, community colleges, and universities.

Below is the contact information for transition centers in Texas.

Region 1 - Amarillo

Buckner FYI Transition Center

4000 Mays Ave.
Amarillo, Texas 79109
(806) 373-1474

Region 1 - Lubbock

Buckner FYI Transition Center
5307 W Loop 289 Ste. 202
Lubbock, Texas 79414
(806) 795-7151
Contact for both centers: Bekah Coggins

Region 2 - Abilene

BCFS Health and Human Services
100 Chestnut St.
Abilene, TX 79602
(325) 692-0033
Contact: Amy Bailey

Region 3 - Dallas

Transition Resource Action Center
3108 Live Oak Street
Dallas, Texas 75204
Toll Free (866) 466-8722
(214) 370-9300

Region 3 - Fort Worth

Transition Resource Action Center
4532 Altamesa Blvd.
Fort Worth, Texas 76133
Toll Free 866-466-8722
(817) 882-9162
Contact for both centers: Carla Cleeton

Region 4 - Tyler

BCFS Health and Human Services
300 N. Hill Avenue, Suite B
Tyler, Texas 75702
(903) 526-0882

Region 4 - Longview

D.O.R.S Youth Transition Center: A Program of ETCADA

716 Glencrest Lane
Suites A, B & C
Longview, TX 75601
Office: (903) 753-7633

Region 5 - Beaumont

FYI Center
9055 Manion Drive
Beaumont, Texas 77706
(409) 866-0976 (main)
Contact: Sheena Fowler (409) 673-8140

Region 6 - Houston

Houston Alumni and Youth (HAY) Center
8915 Knight Road
Houston, Texas 77054
(832) 927-7001
Contact: Tabitha Jones, Aftercare Supervisor

Region 7 - Austin

LifeWorks Youth Resource Center
835 N. Pleasant Valley Road
Austin, Texas 78702
(512) 735-2425
(800) 414-5457
Contact: Alfredo Guerrero, Program Director
Hours: Drop-in Monday-Thursday from 10:00am till 4:00pm, but please call ahead to make sure our schedule has not changed. Other hours by appointment.

Region 7 - Belton, Temple, Killeen

Project Future
204 North East Street
Belton, TX 76513
(254) 952-7160
(254) 939-3466
Contact:: Shellie Hassel, Director

Region 8 - Kerrville

BCFS Health and Human Services
1127 E. Main Street
Kerrville Texas 78028
(830) 896-0993
Contact: Tre Geoghegan or Helen Goff

Region 8 - San Antonio

BCFS Health and Human Services
4346 NW Loop 410
San Antonio, Texas 78229
(210) 733-7932
Contact: Dorothy McHellen

Region 9 - San Angelo

Concho Valley Home for Girls
412 Preusser
San Angelo, Texas 76903
(325) 655-3821
Contact: Kassie Coffey

Region 10 - El Paso

PRIDE Center
El Paso Human Services
820 Montana
El Paso, Texas 79902
(915) 533-4200
Contact: Santiago Gonzalez

Region 11 - Corpus Christi

Corpus Christi Transition Center
4455 South Padre Island Dr., Ste 116A
Corpus Christi, TX 78411
Contact: Robin Soto
(361) 334-2876

Region 11 - McAllen

McAllen Transition Center BCFS-HHS
211 N. 15th Street
McAllen, Texas 78501
(956) 630-0010
Contact: Marissa Cano

Region 11 - Harlingen

Harlingen Transition Center BCFS-HHS
1702 E. Tyler Ste. 4
Harlingen, Texas 78550
(956) 230-3849
Contact: Jeff Wolpers