Training of foster parents is required by the Minimum Standards for Child-Placing Agencies promulgated by the Child Care Licensing division of Texas Health & Human Services. These standards require that all foster parents receive an orientation and and pre-service training.

Additionally, Foster parents must complete First-Aid with rescue breathing and choking and CPR for infants, children, and adults prior to being the only caregiver responsible for a child in foster care.  Foster parents must also maintain current First-Aid/CPR certification. 


Child Protective Services requires potential foster parents to attend the PRIDE (Parent Resource for Information, Development, Education) pre-service training program.

PRIDE is a competency-based program co-trained by DFPS staff and a foster or adoptive parent and it covers topics such as child attachment issues, loss and grief, discipline, behavior intervention, the effects of abuse and neglect, sexual abuse, working with the child welfare system, and effects of fostering and adopting on the family. PRIDE is designed to train prospective foster and adoptive parents together. Minimum Standards for Child-Placing Agencies require that verified foster homes receive annual training. Foster homes caring for children receiving only child-care services must complete 20 hours of annual training per home.   Foster homes caring for children receiving treatment services are required to complete the following annual training hours: 

  • 50 hours for homes with two foster parents; and
  • 30 hours for homes with one foster parent.

Child Protective Services does not verify foster homes that care for children receiving treatment services.

Foster/Adopt Associations

DFPS provides Title IV-B funds to the Texas Foster Families Association (TFFA), which is the state level foster parent association. TFFA uses the IV-B funds to help educate foster parents verified in the public and private sector. TFFA conducts two annual training conferences that are attended by foster parents and agency staff. DFPS also provides Title IV-B funding to the Texas Council on Adoptable Children (COAC). COAC provides training opportunities for adoptive parents. In addition to the state level foster parent association and adoption association, DFPS funds local associations with Title IV-B funds. Training is a part of these local association support functions. All training is designed to help foster and adoptive parents better meet the needs of children who have experienced abuse and neglect.

Private Agencies

CPS and private Child-lacing Agencies (CPAs) are providing joint Parent Resource for Information, Development, Education (PRIDE) pre-service training to prospective foster and adoptive parents. Additionally, CPS provides access to PRIDE "train the trainer" sessions to private CPAs as space permits.